Organize your writing with Scrivener

scrivener-software-writersLast year’s NaNoWriMo winners received 50% off the purchase price of Scrivener, a software program that boasts of being “a complete writing studio.”

That’s an accurate boast. Scrivener is a fabulous tool for writers, worth far more than the current $45 price. I’ve played with it for a month and I’m still discovering its gems.

The purchase comes with a “household license” which enables you to install the software on multiple computers in your home, as long as they’re on the same platform. (Only recently has it been available for PC.) I use both Mac and PC. Scrivener is such a good tool that I’ll be buying another copy soon for my desktop.

Scrivener’s parent company is Literature and Latte. (Great name, don’t you think?) The company was “founded in 2006 with the sole purpose of creating software that aids in the creative process of writing long texts.” Now, that’s something I want to support.

These are only a few of Scrivener’s excellent features:

  • Tools for fiction and non-fiction
  • Corkboard and index cards (which can now be printed) that automatically update with edits and sequencing
  • Panes that store research web links, graphics, and files, all accessed within the program
  • Outliner with drag-and-drop for restructuring
  • Navigation binder so you can flip through your manuscript easily
  • Composition view that leaves your page distraction-free
  • Name generator for fiction writers
  • Word count and target meters

So far, my favorite features are the corkboard/index cards and the research panes. I write first and plan later, so I love having the ability to rearrange my stories with ease. No cutting and pasting required. I click on the chapter’s corresponding index card and drag it to its new location. Scrivener gives options for how the board and cards look, and you can have fun with the feature. The research pane is terrific. I’ve placed photos of structures, rooms, furniture, and locations in the pane. If I’m writing and want to work in the details of a scene, I click on the corresponding pane and call up a photo. I don’t have to leave the program to access my research.

Scrivener offers much more than what I’ve listed here. I’m uncovering more gems every time I use it. If you’re looking for a tool that will inspire you to write and help you organize your writing, then be sure to check out Scrivener. It’s offered as a 30-day trial.

By the way, I’m not an affiliate for Scrivener. I just think it’s a great product and want to spread the news. Please see my Disclosure Policy for more information about payments for writing.

Question: What has been your experience with Scrivener?


Leave a Reply

