Are you ready to share your writing online?

Are you at that exciting place in your writing life where you’re ready to share your work?

Three years ago I cringed at the thought of anyone reading my creative work. In mid-2009 I hit the “Publish” button for the first time with a new blog. For a year and a half I posted three to four times per week to a private audience of family and close friends.

When I decided to take my writing seriously, I also felt it was time to show my writing to the world. Believe me, hitting the “Public” button was just as scary as publishing my first post.

Afternoon Tea is my online writing collection and I invite you to visit the site. There you’ll find samples of my short stories, poetry, devotionals, novels (ideas and works in progress), creative nonfiction and personal stories. I try to post an original work once per week (usually Mondays). Feel free to leave comments and helpful critique. I’m still learning the craft and I appreciate any help I can get. And if you like what you read, be sure to subscribe so that you don’t miss a post.

Do you have a collection of your writings that you share with the world? If so, let me know where I can find it by leaving a link in your comment. If you’re not ready to share, but you still want a private, online place to store your writing, then read my post about WordPress.com. It lists a number of reasons why I love WordPress. It’s a great tool to get started online.

As you make your way through the writing life, show your work to family and close friends. That’s a good and safe stepping stone. When you’re ready — and only you will know when that is — share your gift with the world. I think it will help you to become better writer:

  • You will find yourself practicing your craft regularly.
  • Your confidence will increase with each click of the “Publish” button.
  • You’ll experience a kinship with the writing community.

I’ll expand upon these three points in future posts, as well as deal with the concerns writers have about posting their works online.

When did you start sharing your writing online? If you don’t share it in this way, how do you share it?


Leave a Reply

