Got time? How to find time for writing when you work to live

Vacation.

A coveted time for anyone, but definitely for people who clock in and out at a workplace for the majority of each day.

I’m one of those clock people and perhaps you are, too. Right now I’m on vacation and I’m savoring the few weeks of time I have away from the day job.

This freedom is whispering in my ear, “Don’t you wish you could live like this ALL the time?”

Ah, yes. I then would be living to work. Not like the career-obsessed type who can’t rest unless there’s a project to conquer. I’m referring to one whose work is her ideal, an outpouring of her heart along with her skills, not just a way for the bills to get paid. For me and for you, that would be working somehow, somewhere, as a full-time writer.

Away from my day job, I can commit to work on my writings, plan for meeting my goals, and stay up late — really late — with research. To sum it up, I can relax knowing I have two luxurious weeks to care for my writing life.

Like me, you may love your job and be grateful for the way your unique skills add to the success of some business or cause. You may even hold a second job or do freelance work to help make ends meet.

You work to live and you’re thankful for the steady paycheck and perks that keep you and yours sheltered, fed, and healthy. You love the daily interaction with co-workers, the benefits and perks, and the satisfaction of knowing you do your job well.

But writing is your true vocation, and that job stuff just gets in the way of your freedom to create. You have goals and you’ve given yourself a deadline. The stories are flowing and you can’t stop thinking about that plot twist. There’s a contest here and a writing challenge there.

Yet there are only so many hours in the day. Not only do you work full-time, you also have your after-work responsibilities. Cooking, cleaning, caring for loved ones, sharing with spouses.

Then there’s recreation. We all need it. Television, reading, sports, evenings out, staying in touch with your friends. And the bane of all writers: You need to sleep.

With a life like this, when does the writing come in? How can you find time and have the energy to do what you love?

#1: Make a Sacrifice

There’s no way around it: You have to give up something. I’m sure there are scientists in laboratories today trying to invent the 25th hour. Until they succeed, you will need to make some sacrifices in how you spend the hours you have.

When my son left for college, I ditched cable television. Back then I did it as a money saver, but now it’s one less temptation and a huge time opener.

What do you do with your free time before or after work that could be replaced with your writing? Is there an activity that could be pared down to one hour instead of two? Could you use your break times at work to read the headlines instead of at home? Will you give up a bit of watching, playing, meeting, or sleeping to gain that extra time each day?

Sacrifice is the most generous of time makers.

#2: Make it a Priority

Your family, social life, and work are important, and you don’t want to let your writing life overshadow any of them.

What you need to do, though, is make it known that your writing is a priority. One of the first things you can do is start calling yourself a writer. No one will take you seriously if you don’t.

Then start acting like one. Writers work. Let your family and friends know that you’re working at your designated times. They can share in your writing life as you give them the details. You may even start seeing signs of their approval.

Of course there will come important dates and events that take precedence over your writing appointment. Your family and friends will support you even more when they see that they still come first when it really matters.

#3: Make it a Commitment

Find the time that works best for you and your household and stick to it. If you try to squeeze in your writing time only when time becomes available, you’ll most likely end up skipping it “for a better time.” Going to your designated writing time will become a habit you will not want to break.

I’ve carved out two hours each day to devote to my writing on weekday and Sunday evenings, and Saturday mornings. I do not have a spouse or young children to work around, but I do have freelance work, day job take-home work, and family and church responsibilities to fit in.

Those two hours are appointments, placed on my calendar like anything else I’ve scheduled. Some days it’s tough, but going to my computer and working is a daily commitment. Can you make this happen for yourself? Imagine what you can accomplish with uninterrupted time and concentration on your craft.

Working a full-time job doesn’t mean you have to give up your writing life dream. It will mean sacrifice, priorities, and commitment. Are you willing to take these steps?

How are you creating time for your writing life? Please share them with us.

2 thoughts on “Got time? How to find time for writing when you work to live

  1. Great post, Darla. I made some great progress on my WIP this past week during my staycation. That freedom whispered to me, too. If only I didn’t have to pay bills. 🙂

    I write mostly on weekends. Hard to fit it in during the week; instead I get distracted reading blogs or books – all good stuff, but of course I’m not actually writing during that time. Need to make some adjustments there.

    The most regimented I have ever been was during NaNoWriMo 2010. I got up at 5am and wrote for 2 hours every morning. Planning to participate again this November…

    Like

    1. It’s easy to come home after an eight-hour day and want to kick back. We earned it, didn’t we? And there’s nothing wrong with writing only on weekends, if that’s the best time for you and your family. I just get that itch every day, plus I have a goal and word count to keep in order to finish by a specific date. Oh, the writing life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

