Twitter vs. Facebook: Which one is best for new writers?

So many social networks, so little time. Have you found it to be that way?

It’s been a year now since I jumped aboard the social media train. My plan was to try each of the Big Three, choose the ones that suit my style and goals, and let the others go.

The funny thing is that I’m having fun with all of them. I have a small army of followers and peers around the Web, and it’s not difficult having real interaction with them.

You’ll hear from the experienced writers that it’s best to choose one or two social media that you’ll actually engage in and then focus on those tools. As I noted in an earlier post, writers want readers, and publishers want good writers.

Still, those same publishers expect writers to have platforms that cater to the social aspect of the writing business. And publishers are also looking at numbers, though they probably have ways to find out if your numbers can be translated into dollar signs or they’re inactive and not worth a cent.

Facebook and Twitter are the top social media networks and all writers should have a presence on at least one of them.

So, if you’re finding yourself trying to choose between the two, how can you know which one to use and which one to put aside? From my one year experience of using both Facebook and Twitter as a new writer, here’s my pick.

And the winner is … Twitter

Though I enjoy using both Facebook and Twitter, I’ve found Twitter to be the best for new writers.

It’s more satisfying. Twitter gives me instant interaction, information, and entertainment. I get the sense of NOW with Twitter, which inspires me to keep up on my writing. Facebook works more like a picture book or bulletin board of what’s been happening. I guess that’s why each member has the all important Wall on Facebook.

Constant stream of information. You won’t find a better place to find up to the minute information, from a wide range of sources. It’s a goldmine for writers. And the tweets are short and sweet, so you can scan them for your interests.

Ideas for posts and stories. Twitter is also home to poets, photographers, and people tweeting their everyday life activities. You might find a tweet that inspires a storyline or a blog post.

Interaction with authors. Most authors are willing to chat with you real-time if you’re a follower or if you reply to a tweet. Facebook author pages are active usually upon a book release, with dates, signing locations, promotions, and chats. After the initial rush, the page quiets down until the next book is ready for release. But with Twitter, authors continue to tweet about all kinds of things beyond the book release.

Facebook: Still a keeper

My Facebook page for Darla Writes is a playful one where I relax and post about a variety of things. You’ll get to know me better if you visit regularly. And that’s why I’ll keep it, even though I don’t get a lot of conversation there. It’s the place where my readers and writing peers see me in a more personal way.

As I move ahead with my goal of becoming a published author, I plan to create a Facebook page that carries my full name and focuses solely on my writing, my readers, and the progress I make towards that goal. I’ll introduce my novel when I finish the first draft and use the Page to create interest and gain fans.

What’s your dream? (And it really is okay to dream.) How are you using the fabulous social tools available to close in on that dream? Facebook and Twitter are both great tools, but Twitter is my choice as the social media network that benefits new writers the most.

Click here to follow me on Twitter.

Click here to visit and Like my Facebook page.

Which do you think is best for new writers — Twitter or Facebook?


Leave a Reply

