My NaNoWriMo survival kit

I’ve made it through the first week of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and all is going well. My word count is 13,080, which is on track for meeting the goal of writing 50,000 words by the end of November. It’s a fun challenge, you’ll have the beginnings of a novel, and there’s still time to join if you’d like to give it a go.

I write in the evenings, after an eight-hour job working with a school full of wonderful students. (Hi, Ms. Miro’s Third Grade Class!) I am tired when I get home. How do I keep myself ready, inspired, and energized enough to write at least 1,667 words each evening?

We all have our tools, and here are mine. Collectively they are my NaNoWriMo Survival Kit:

– my seven-year-old Mac iBook G4 laptop
Scrivener, an excellent word processor for writers
– a picture of a MacBook Air (my dream machine)
– Peanut M&Ms
– lots of water
– lots of Canada Dry Green Tea Ginger Ale
– chocolate-covered coffee beans (reserved for Friday nights)
– packs of Trident chewing gum, peppermint and cinnamon flavored
– 93.7 KDB-FM classical music
– a photo of my son
– a copy of my inspiration verse (Philippians 4:8)
– a recording of Dvorak’s “New World Symphony” to play every 10,000 words
– my stair climber for a quick “Wake up!”
– Orville Redenbacher’s Kettle Korn

That’s it! Having them close at hand keeps me going like an Energizer bunny each NaNo night.

If you’re taking the NaNo challenge, what’s in your survival kit?


8 thoughts on “My NaNoWriMo survival kit

  1. Well, because of the cartoon, I was picturing you writing in a coffee shop. That’s why when I got to “stair climber” I was so confused. Good luck on the NEXT NaNoWriMo, if you give it a shot. I probably will.

    Like

    1. The stair climber is in my home office. Either I’m writing in there or I’m writing in another room of my house. When I feel like nodding off, I climb for a few minutes and then get back to work. I hope you do give NaNo a try.

      Like

  2. Hmm it appears like your wetibse ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    Like

    1. Hi, Graciela — Sorry about the problem with your comment. I’m happy to know you’re enjoying my blog. I haven’t posted in a few weeks due to my participation in NaNoWriMo, but I’m getting back to it now. For a newbie blog writer, I would head over to WordPress.com and start a blog there. It’s simple and you’ll have a load of tools available to get your blog going. Here is an article I wrote that lists good reasons for using WordPress http://www.darlawrites.com/wordpress-writers/ I don’t focus on blogging here at Darla Writes, but you’ll find some articles in my technology and social media categories that share information that might be helpful to you. Happy blogging!

      Like

Leave a Reply

